Research Axes

The LabEx EMC3 was designed according to a scientific roadmap including 2 axes from the research fields of our member laboratories (Materials for Energy and Clean Combustion) and a third interdisciplinary axis initiating new collaborations between our members. This roadmap is managed by Serge Bouffard along the following lines:

LAN2600_webEnergy Materials

Given the many challenges related to materials for energy, research at LabEx EMC3 focuses on topics where its members have an international reputation, that includes thermoelectricity, meterials for light emission and materials for nuclear energy. The development of new non-polluting energy sources and saving fossiles fuels represent  a great challenge for researchers. The excellence of our laboratories is based on skills and expertise in the following types of materials: ther thermoelectric materials used in generators to convert heat into electricity, structural materials used in nuclear installations and in particular the aging process of those, the electroluminescent materials and to lower power consumption.

Thermoelectric Materials: getting new higly efficient and lows cost materials.
➢ Synthesis on silicides and oxides
➢ Implementation pf heterostructures as model systems
➢ Exploration on new hybrid materials

• Light Emitting Materials:  proposing thin layers to achieve CMOS compatible optical devices, lasers and LEDs.
➢ Nanostructured thin layers doped y rare earth
➢ Fluorides doped by praseodymium as well as semi-conductors III-V
➢ Research of new hybrid and organic materials

• Materials for Nuclear Energy: understanging aging mechanisms under irradiation of materials used in nucluear industry .
➢ Structural materials for existing and future reactors
➢ Fuel cladding
➢ Ceramic and organic materials invovled in wastes management

 

LAN0117_webClean Combustion:

Given the significant challenges related to energy production, research at LabEx EMC3 focuses on the burning of fossil and alternative fuels as well ason systems wih high energy efficiency and on pollution control and CO2 capture processes. Combustion remains one of the most serious problems in the production of energy for urban and industrial activities and for automotive and air transportation. Estimated energy consumption is expected to grow by more than 5% per year over the next 20 years. This will have a negative effect on oil resources and the environment with the increase in greenhouse effect and the degradation of air. Thus, progress on clean combustion is essential not only from an environmental point of view bus also to enable manufacturers to competitive players.

Our laboratories have considerable expertise in combustion and depollution, especially in digital simulation in automotive catalytic engine or in fluid physics. This research is organised into four themes:
• Turbulence and viscoelasticity: 

➢ Understanding of the mechanisms of scalar turbulence flows with free jets

➢ Viscoelasticity in flows
➢ Diphasic flows, atomisation and sprays 

• Catalytic convertors: understanding and improving catalysers for environment safety
➢ Operando studies
➢ Degradation of 
volatile organic compounds
➢ Plasma kinetic chemistry

• Reactive flows: optimisation of combustion systems and plasmas
➢ Combustion in energy production field, and air & ground propulsion to achieve better energy efficiency and environmental safety
➢ High-pressure combustion
➢ Plasmas (ignition, CO2 …) 

• Advanced numerical simulation: multi-scale approach turbulent flows, from atomisation simulation of fuel jet to deep description of chemical kinetics of combustion
➢ Development of supercomputing codes
➢ N
umerical simulation of complexe systems

 

Transdisciplinary Research LAN1176_web

The development of high-level instrumentation is essential to our laboratories. CIMAP and CORIA laboratories have complementary skills in laser design and  physics. Common research themes reinforce partnerships and the quality of future projects. LCS and CIMAP have convergent approaches on the use of IR spectroscopy to study operando catalysts or to track changes in irradiated materials. LCMT, CRISMAT & LCS have a shared interest on the synthesis, the characterisation and the packing of materials that are organic, inorganic or hybrid. These three laboratories have convergent approaches on analytical techniques for the characterisation at the molecular scale of innovative materials.
This axis is divided into 3 themes:

• Scientific instrumentation: experimental developments implying researchers
➢ Lasers
Operando in situ spectroscopy
➢ Real-time multiparamater acquisitions
➢ Materials synthesis and characterisation methods
➢ Optical and laser diagnoses of reactive flows
➢ Metrology in high-temperature environment

• Recovery and conversion of energy by high efficiency thermoelectric modules
➢ Integration of
thermoelectric modules on combustion systems, motors and/or exhaust lines
➢ Joint approach on thermodynamic modeling and 
experimental test bench measurement to optimise this technology
➢  Centimetric scale electricity
production system
➢ Heat recovery for electricity production
•  New materials synthesis: new hybrid (organic-inorganic) and nanocomposite materials with controlled properties for thermoelectric catalysis and optics
Clean process development
➢ Easy implementation
➢ Limitation of costs

Axes de recherche

Le LabEx EMC3 a été pensé selon une roadmap scientifique comprenant 2 axes de recherches propres aux laboratoires membres (Matériaux pour l’énergie et Combustion propre) et un troisième axe interdisciplinaire initiateur de collaborations nouvelles entre ses membres. C’est feuille de route est gérée par Serge Bouffard selon les axes suivants:

LAN2600_webMatériaux pour l’énergie

Etant donné les nombreux défis liés aux matériaux pour l’énergie, la recherche du LabEx EMC3 se concentre sur les sujets où ses participants possèdent une renommée internationale : la thermoélectricité, les matériaux pour l’émission lumineuse et les matériaux pour l’énergie nucléaire. Le développement de nouvelles sources d’énergie non polluantes et la sauvegarde des énergies fossiles représentent un grand challenge pour les chercheurs. L’excellence de nos laboratoires est basée sur des compétences et expertises dans les types de matériaux suivants : les matériaux thermoélectriques utilisés dans les générateurs thermoélectriques pour convertir la chaleur en énergie électrique, les matériaux de structure utilisés dans les installations nucléaires et notamment le processus de vieillissement de ces matériaux, et les matériaux électroluminescents pour une consommation électrique moindre.

• Matériaux thermoélectriques : obtenir de nouveaux matériaux thermoélectriques performants et à faible coût.
➢ Synthèse sur les siliciures et les oxydes
➢ Réalisation d’hétérostructures comme systèmes modèles
➢ Explorations sur les matériaux hybrides

• Matériaux pour l’émission lumineuse : proposer des couches minces permettant de réaliser des dispositifs optiques compatibles CMOS, des lasers et des LEDs.
➢ Couches minces nanostructurées dopées terres rares
➢ Fluorures dopés praséodyme ainsi que les semi-conducteurs III-V
➢ Recherche de nouveaux matériaux organiques et hybrides

• Matériaux pour l’énergie nucléaire : comprendre les mécanismes de vieillissement sous irradiation des matériaux utilisés dans la filière nucléaire.
➢ Matériaux de structure des réacteurs actuels et futurs
➢ Gaine des combustibles
➢ Matériaux céramiques et organiques impliqués dans la gestion des déchets

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

LAN0122_webCombustion propre

Compte tenu des importants défis liés à la production d’énergie, la recherche du LabEx EMC3 se focalise sur la combustion des carburants fossiles et alternatifs ainsi que sur les systèmes à haute performance énergétique et procédés de dépollution et captation de CO2. La combustion reste un des problèmes les plus sérieux dans la production d’énergie pour les activités urbaines, industrielles et de transport aérien ou automobile. Selon les estimations, la consommation d’énergie devrait croître de plus de 5% par an sur les 20 prochaines années. Cette situation aura un effet négatif sur les ressources en pétrole et l’environnement avec l’augmentation de l’effet de serre et la dégradation de l’air. Ainsi, les progrès effectués sur la combustion propre sont indispensables non seulement d’un point de vue environnemental mais aussi pour permettre aux industriels de rester des acteurs compétitifs.

Nos laboratoires possèdent une très grande expertise dans la combustion et la dépollution, notamment dans la simulation numérique, dans les systèmes catalytiques pour moteur automobile ou encore dans la physique des fluides. Ce thème de recherche est organisé en quatre thématiques :
• Turbulence et viscoélasticité : 
➢ Compréhension des mécanismes de couplage turbulence scalaire dans les écoulements à jets libres
➢ Viscoélasticité dans les écoulements
➢ Ecoulements diphasiques, atomisation et sprays

• Convertisseurs catalytiques : comprendre et améliorer les catalyseurs pour l’environnement
➢ Etudes operando
➢ Destruction des composés organiques volatiles
➢ Chimie cinétique des plasmas

• Ecoulements réactifs : optimiser les systèmes de combustion et de plasmas
➢ Combustion dans les domaines de production d’énergie et de propulsion aéronautique et terrestre pour une meilleure efficacité énergétique et environnementale
➢ Combustion haute pression
➢ Plasmas (allumage, CO2 …)

• Simulation numérique avancée : approche multi-échelle de l’écoulement turbulent, depuis la simulation de l’atomisation du jet de carburant jusqu’à la description détaillée de la cinétique chimique de la combustion
➢ Développement de codes de calcul intensif
➢ Simulation numérique des systèmes complexes

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Recherche transversaleLAN1176_web

Le développement d’une instrumentation de haut niveau est essentiel pour nos laboratoires. Des points de convergence existent dans de nombreux domaines. Le CIMAP et le CORIA ont des compétences complémentaires dans le design et la physique des lasers. Les thèmes communs de recherche renforcent le partenariat et la qualité des futurs projets. Le LCS et le CIMAP ont des approches convergentes sur l’utilisation de la spectroscopie IR operando pour étudier les catalyseurs ou suivre les changements des matériaux irradiés. le LCMT, le CRISMAT et le LCS portent un intérêt partagé sur la synthèse, la caractérisation et le conditionnement de matériaux qu’ils soient organiques, inorganiques ou hybrides. Ces trois laboratoires ont des approches convergentes sur les techniques d’analyse pour la caractérisation au niveau moléculaire des matériaux innovants.
Cet axe se décompose trois thématiques :

• Instrumentation scientifique : développements expérimentaux en lien avec les scientifiques
➢ Lasers
➢ Spectroscopie operando in situ
➢ Acquisitions multiparamétriques en temps réel
➢ Méthodes de synthèse et de caractérisation des matériaux
➢ Diagnostic optique et laser des écoulements réactifs
➢ Métrologie en milieu à haute température

• Récupération et conversion de l’énergie par modules thermoélectrique haute performance
➢ Intégration de modules thermoélectriques sur les systèmes de combustion
➢ Approche conjointe de modélisation thermodynamique et mesures expérimentales sur le banc d’essai pour optimiser cette technologie
➢ Système de production d’énergie électrique à échelle centimétrique
➢ Récupération thermique pour la production électrique

• Synthèse de nouveaux matériaux : Nouveaux matériaux hybrides (organique-inorganique) et de nanocomposites à propriétés contrôlées pour la catalyse thermoélectrique et optique
➢ Développement de procédés propres
➢ Mise en œuvre aisée
➢ Limitation des coûts

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.